APC wins 23 Ekiti Assembly seats, SDP clinches two


By Kayode Sanni-Arewa

The All Progressives Congress () has won majority seats in Assembly held on Saturday.

According to the official results declared by the Independent National () APC won 23 seats while Social Democratic Party clinched two seats.

The results clearly showed the election was a two-horse race between the ruling APC and SDP with People's Democratic Party relegated to the backwater.

The APC candidate in Ado Constituency I Ayo Adegbite garnered 7,544 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Olakunle Ojo of the SDP who scored 676 votes.

In Ekiti East Constituency 1, the APC candidate and current occupant, Oluwole Fatoba who scored 3595 votes lost to SDP candidate, Oladele Ogunsakin who polled 4,566.

Similarly, Ayodeji Ajayi, the candidate of the APC for Ise/Orun was defeated by the SDP candidate, Babatunde Omotayo who scored 7,498 votes against 6,785.

In Irepodun/Ifelodun constituency 1, the Deputy and APC candidate, Hon Hakeem Jamiu was re-elected with 4792 to defeat the SDP candidate, Ologuntoye Olubunmi who polled 2,150.

The APC candidate for Oye constituency 1, Longe Temitope won with 5789 votes while his main challenger and candidate of the , Ayodele Samson.

Other winners were Christiana Solanke (APC) – Moba I, Awoniyi Jacob (APC)- Moba 2 ; Idowu Odebunmi (APC) -Oye II;
Ebenezer Ayorinde (APC) – Ido/Osi II ; Martins Ojo (APC) – Ijero; Babatunde Oke (APC) – Ikere I; Kehinde Adaramodu (APC) – Ekiti South West 1 ; Tolulope Ige(APC) -Ekiti South West II, Mariam Ogunlade (APC) – Emure, Bolaji Olagbaju (APC) – Ado II; Teju Okuyiga (APC) -Gbonyin and Yinka Olowookere (APC) -Efon.

They also include Wole Akanle (APC) -Ekiti East 2 ; Kareem Agunbiade (APC) -Ekiti West 1 ; Johnson Bode-Adeoye (APC) – Ekiti West II ; Lawrence Idowu (APC) -Ikere II ; Babafemi Fatunla(APC) – Ikole 1; Adeoye Aribasoye (APC) -Ikole II Femi Akindele (APC) -Irepodun/Ifelodun 1, and Iyabode Fakunle-Okeimen (APC) – Ilejemeje.

The election in Ido/Osi constituency 1 was declared inconclusive because the total number of cancelled votes were more than the margin of lead.

The Nation

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Share post:



More like this

HoR: Speaker Abass reshuffles Cttee chairmen, deputies

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon Tajudeen...

General Gowon @ 90, The only General that jump two ranks in 1967 Strange, but true……

  1. Gowon was the only person to become Nigeria's...

Fed govt targets 96-hour timeline for passport issuance

• To implement electronic gates at airports effective Feb...

Peter Obi Issues Directive To Nigerian youths

The Labour Party (LP) presidential candidate in the last...