Five Women Get Kwara Assembly Seats


Five have been elected into the Kwara State House of Assembly and will partake in the 10th legislative session of the Assembly which will be inaugurated in June this year.

The women who got elected during the last Saturday's House of Assembly include Rukayat Shittu, Owode/Onire constituency; Arinola Lawal, Ilorin East constituency; Medinat AbdulRaheem, Lanwa/ Ejidongari constituency; Aishat Babatunde-Alanamu, Ilorin North-West constituency; and Mariam Aladi, Ilorin South constituency.

The PUNCH reports that 24 elected Assembly members who served in the 9th legislative Assembly between 2019 and 2023 were all male.

A former Commissioner for Women Affairs in the state, Hajia Mopelola Abdulmalik-Bashir, had earlier said in a recent interview with The PUNCH that “It will interest you that the current Chairman of the Committee for women affairs in the state House of Assembly is a . I asked him the other time whether he had gone through the pains of child-bearing, monthly call, lactation and breastfeeding.”

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress won 23 out of the available 24 seats in the Kwara State House of Assembly while the secured one seat.

The House of Assembly member-elect is Afolabi Taiye (Odo-Ogun State Constituency).

The members-elect include Yakubu Salihu-Danladi, (Ilesha/Gwanara), Bamigboye Olajire (Oke-Ero Constituency); Baba Yisa Gideon (Lafiagi); Abdullahi Danbaba (Kaiama/Wajibe/Kemanji) and Ahmed Baba (Gwanabe/Adena/Banni).

Others include Abolarin Ganiyu (); Ojo Oyebode (Oke-Ogun); Yusuf Abdulwaheed, (Essa/Sawo/Igboidun); Lawal Saliu (Oloru/Malete/Ipaye); Bello Yinusa-Oniboki (Afon); Medinat Abdulraheem (Lanwa/Ejidondari); Aishat Babatunde-Alanamu, (Ilorin North-West); Arinola Lawal, (Ilorin East); Rukayat Shittu (Owode/Onire); Segun Oguniyi (Ojomu/Balogun) and Omotosho Razaq (Isin Constituency).

Other elected members are Olusola Odetundun (Irepodun); Maryam Aladi (Ilorin South); Magaji Abdulkadir (Ilorin Central); AbdulRazaq Owolabi (Share/Oke-Ode); Salahudeen Ganiyu (Omupo/Igbaja); Mohammed Kareem Musa (Patigi) and Mohammed Baba, (Okuta/Yashikira).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Share post:



More like this

FG takes delivery of 2nd Niger bridge from Julius Berger

The federal government has taken delivery of the second...

First Lady Remi Tinubu Calls for Renewed Efforts Against HIV/AIDS

Senator Oluremi Tinubu, the First Lady, emphasized the need...

SAD! Nine passengers burnt in Oyo autocrash – FRSC

The Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), said nine passengers...